SB19 leads Awit Awards-winning Filipino music artists

SB19 Awit Awards
B19 (top), Ben&Ben (bottom), Leanne & Naara (right). Photos from groups’ official Facebook pages.

SB19 leads the 39 Awit Award-winning Filipino music artists recognized at the 2022 edition of the annual industry awards.

SB19 rose to the top of the list as the Pinoy Pop boy group bagged seven awards, making them the most-awarded artist at this year’s event.

- Advertisement -

The year’s Most Streamed Artist won for the songs “Mapa”, “What?”, and “Bazinga” which dominated the Twitter-powered Billboard Chart for Top Trending Songs for six non-consecutive weeks, tying the record of K-pop superstar boy band BTS’ “Butter” earlier this year.

The P-pop supergroup of Pablo, Josh, Stell, Ken, and Justin, has been leading the way for Filipino boy groups breaking into the global stage as they continue to make history with their latest hit “WYAT (Where You At)” which debuted at No. 4 on the Billboard Hot Trending Songs last week.

SB19 won the following at the 35th Awit Awards held on November 23 at the Newport Performing Arts Theater in Pasay City, Manila:

  • Most Streamed Artist
  • Most Streamed Song (“Mapa”)
  • Best Performance by a Group Recording Artist (“Mapa”)
  • Best Pop Recording (“Bazinga”)
  • Best Dance Recording (“Bazinga”)
  • Best Vocal Arrangement (“Mapa”)
  • Best Global Recording (“What?”)

Asia’s Best 9-piece folk-pop band Ben&Ben was another big winner at this year’s Awit Awards with a total of five wins including:

  • Album of the Year (Pebble House Vol. 1: Kuwaderno)
  • Best Collaboration (“Sabel” featuring KZ Tandingan)
  • Best World Music Recording (“Sabel” feat. KZ Tandingan)
  • Best Music Video (“Lunod,” directed by Jerrold Tarog / Ben&Ben, Zild, and Juan Karlos)
  • Best Musical Arrangement (Upuan)

Pop duo Leanne & Naara won the coveted Record of the Year award with their song “Anticipation” while singer-songwriter Zack Tabudlo’s “Binibini” was named the Song of the Year.

Here is the complete list of winners in the 2022 Awit Awards:

  1. Record of the Year – “Anticipation” by Leanne & Naara
  2. Album of the Year – Pebble House Vol. 1: Kuwaderno by Ben&Ben
  3. Song of the Year – “Binibini” by Zack Tabudlo
  4. Best Collaboration – “Sabel” by Ben&Ben feat. KZ Tandingan
  5. Best Performance by a Group Recording Artist – “MAPA” by SB19
  6. Best Instrumental Performance – “Cutting Candy” by Noel Mendez feat. Rancis De Leon, Jack Rulfo, and Bobby Taylo
  7. Best Performance by a Male Recording Artist – “Kyusi” by Zild”
  8. Best Performance by a Female Recording Artist – “11:59” by KZ Tandingan
  9. Best Music Video – “Lunod,” directed by Jerrold Tarog / Ben&Ben, Zild, and Juan Karlos
  10. Best Cover Art – “Kalawakan,” art by Paul Ramirez / Paul Pablo
  11. Best Engineered Recording – “Blink,” sound engineered by Fran “The Ringmaster” Lorenzo / Clara Benin
  12. Most Streamed Artist – SB19
  13. Most Streamed Song – “MAPA” by SB19
  14. Favorite Group Artist – BGYO
  15. Best Christmas Recording – “Halo-Halo” by The Itchyworms
  16. Best Song Written for Movie/TV/Stage Play – “Di Ka Nag-Iisa,” composed by Anne “Sisa” Jamito and Lordvino “Bassilyo” Ignacio and produced by Jonathan Manalo / Regine Velasquez
  17. Best Ballad Recording – “Manatili” by Ebe Dancel
  18. Best Rock/Alternative Recording – “Mahirap Mahalin” by Valley of Chrome
  19. Best Pop Recording – “Bazinga” by SB19
  20. Breakthrough Artist – Belle Mariano
  21. Favorite Song “Sigurado” by Belle Mariano
  22. Favorite Male Artist – Darren Espanto
  23. Favorite Female Artist – Maymay Entrata
  24. Best Inspirational Recording – “Ako Naman Muna” by Angela Ken
  25. Best Jazz Recording – “Cutting Candy” by Noel Mendez feat. Rancis de Leon, Jack Rufo, and Bobby Taylo
  26. Best Novelty Recording – “Chub@by” by Grin Department
  27. Best Dance Recording – “Bazinga” by SB19
  28. Best R&B Recording – “Anticipation” by Leanne & Naara
  29. Best Rap/Hip Hop Recording – “Lagi Na Lang,” JRLDM feat. Gloc-9
  30. Best Vocal Arrangement – “MAPA” by SB19
  31. Best Regional Recording – “Asa Naman” by Maris Racal
  32. Best Global Recording – “What?” by SB19
  33. Best World Music Recording – “Sabel” by Ben&Ben feat. KZ Tandingan
  34. Best Traditional/Contemporary Folk Recording – “Wag Kang Aalis” by Ice Seguerra
  1. Best Musical Arrangement – “Upuan” by Ben&Ben
  2. Best New Artist in a Collaboration – “Get Me Down” by LouisVint and Juliana Celine
  3. Best Performance by a New Group Recording Artist – “Operation 10-90” by Shockra
  4. Best Performance by a New Male Recording Artist – “Mamahalin” by Angelo Garcia
  5. Best Performance by a New Female Recording Artist – “Ako Naman” by Jessica Villarubin

With additional reports from The GNP Team.

SEND CHEERS and CONGRATULATIONS to SB19 and the other winners at this year’s Awit Awards!

Good News Pilipinas is a Lasallian Scholarum Awardee. TELL US your good news story tips by messaging on FacebookTwitterInstagram, or e-mail and WATCH Good News Pilipinas TV YouTube & Good News Pilipinas TikTok for more Filipino Pride stories!

Facebook Comments

- Advertisement -