UP, DLSU, UST, USM scientists named in Asia’s Top 100

Asian Top 100 Scientists
These Filipinos are among the 100 brightest scientists across Asia. Photo credits to Asian Scientist Magazine.

Eleven Filipino scientists from the University of the Philippines (UP), University of Santo Tomas (UST), De La Salle University (DLSU), University of Southern Mindanao were named in the new edition of Asian Scientist Top 100.

Seven from UP, 2 from DLSU, 1 from UST, and 1 from USM comprise the 11 outstanding Filipino scientists named in the annual list released by Asian Scientist Magazine.

- Advertisement -

The award-winning science and technology magazine, which named 8 Filipino scientists among the region’s best in 2018, has once again hailed Filipino honorees who are among the brightest researchers across Asia.

The 11 Filipino researchers listed in the Singapore-based magazine have shown excellence in various scientific disciplines including chemistry, agriculture, genetics, medicine, biology, engineering, and environmental research.

The prestigious publication which started naming Asia’s top 100 in 2016, requires from the honoree a national or international prize for his/her research or has provided leadership in academia or industry.

The Filipino scientists who joined the prestigious list of Asian Scientist top 100 are:

Cleotilde Hidalgo-How
University of the Philippines Manila

Cleotilde Hidalgo-How received the Dr. Paulo Campos Award for Health Research 2019 for her work in the understanding, management, and diagnosis of tuberculosis among children and adolescents.

Emil Q. Javier
Formerly the University of the Philippines System

Emil Q. Javier is a National Scientist of the Philippines. He spearheaded the Institute of Plant Breeding in Los Baños, which popularized high-yielding crops and disease-resistant plant varieties in Asia. Beyond research and academic leadership, Javier is also recognized for promoting sound agricultural policies and programs, utilizing climate-resilient and environmentally-friendly agricultural innovations, which improves and improving Filipino farmers and fisherfolks’ livelihood.

Carlo Arcilla (University of the Philippines)
Philippine Nuclear Research Institute

Carlo Arcilla received the Gregorio Y. Zara Award for Basic Research 2019 for his contributions to resolving sensitive issues on mineral resource development, water management, and developing peaceful applications for nuclear energy in the Philippines.

Raul Destura
National Institutes of Health, University of the Philippines Manila

Raul Destura was awarded the 2019 Presidential Lingkod Bayan Award for his creation of the award-winning Biotek-M dengue aquakit for faster, more affordable, and accessible dengue diagnosis. Dr. Destura was also the lead scientist in the creation of the first Philippine-made COVID-19 Test Kit.

Joselito R. Chavez (University of the Philippines)
National Kidney and Transplant Institute

Joselito R. Chavez was awarded the 2019 Presidential Lingkod Bayan Award for his trailblazing work on the use of extracorporeal membrane oxygenation in severe leptospirosis.

Alonzo Gabriel
University of the Philippines Diliman

Alonzo Gabriel received the Eduardo A. Quisumbing Medal for his research into microbial stress adaptation on food safety and quality.

Robert Dizon (University of the Philippines)
Metals Industry Research and Development Center

Robert Dizon received the Mario Cruel Award for Advanced Engineering Technology Application for developing the torque mode configuration for multiple variable frequency drives used in the Automated Guideway Transit System, Hybrid Electric Road Train, and Hybrid Electric Train.

Raymond Tan
De La Salle University

Raymond Tan received the Gregorio Y. Zara Award for Advanced Research 2019 for his contributions to the development of novel computational techniques for the design of sustainable industrial systems.

Susan Gallardo
De La Salle University

Susan Gallardo received the David M. Consunji Award for Engineering Research 2019 for her work in environmental engineering and catalysis, as well as industrial and hazardous waste treatment and management.

Alicia Aguinaldo
University of Santo Tomas

Alicia Aguinaldo received the Philippine Federation of Chemistry Societies Shimadzu Achievement Award for Chemical Research for her studies into the anti-tuberculosis and anti-diabetic properties of Philippine plants.

Emma Sales
University of Southern Mindanao

Emma Sales received the LEADS AgriAward for Agricultural Research 2019 for establishing the first tissue culture and biotechnology laboratory in the Philippines’ Region XII (SOCCSKSARGEN) and developing diagnostic tools for the identification of durian, rubber, and mango varieties.

Asian Scientist Magazine had also named Dr. Kathleen Bernardo Aviso as Asia’s Rising Scientist for her environmental research.

SEND CONGRATULATIONS in the comments below to the 11 Filipino researchers from UP, DLSU, UST, and USM who were named in the 2020 Asian Scientist Magazine’s top 100.

Want to know how to be a Proud Pinoy? Like, Follow, Subscribe to GoodNewsPilipinas.com, and our socials on FacebookTwitterInstagramGood News Pilipinas! TV on YouTube, for new story notifications, and e-mail newsletters for updates on more Filipino Pride stories.

Facebook Comments

- Advertisement -