Benilda Ebarvia is first Filipino to win Japan’s Metrology Developing Economies Award

Dr. Benilda Ebarvia
Dr. Benilda S. Ebarvia, of the National Metrology Laboratory. Photo Credit: RRUDela Cruz


Dr. Benilda S. Ebarvia, of the National Metrology Laboratory, is the first Filipino to win the Developing Economies Award (DEN) from the National Metrology Institute (NMI) of Japan.

- Advertisement -HSBC HSBC

Dr. Ebarvia, an Assistant Scientist and head of the Metrology in Chemistry (MiC) Laboratory of the National Metrology Laboratory (NML-ITDI), is the first award recipient from the Philippines.

The Filipina scientist bested other candidates from 17 member economies from the Asia Pacific Metrology Programme (APMP) who are champions of advancing metrology efforts in their country and or within the Asia Pacific Region. The countries include Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, North Korea, Pakistan, Zimbabwe, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Dr. Toshiyuki Takatsuji, of the National Metrology Institute (NMI) of Japan and chair of the Asia Pacific Metrology Programme (APMP), awarded the 2019 Developing Economies NMI (DEN) Award to Dr. Benilda S. Ebarvia in rites at Le Montage in Sydney, Australia on December 4, 2019.

Ebarvia received the award for having played a key role in establishing the Metrology in Chemistry (MiC) at NML-ITDI and raising funds for its operations, including raising awareness of metrology among stakeholders in the country.

The Filipina is best represented by her work on developing the first Reference Materials or RMs in the Philippines. RMs mean to confirm methods and to assess the accuracy of measurement results for use by measurement laboratories to analyze, for example, the content of properties in foodstuffs, e.g., aflatoxin M1 in milk powder, and aflatoxins B and G in peanut butter products, among others.

These are useful also in proving what makes up a particular food, its micronutrients, or the extent of its authenticity. Further, Dr. Ebarvia’s RM work supports the results of measurement laboratories to ensure that local commodities can pass stringent international trade standards on food quality and control.

APMP established the DEN Award in November 2010. It aims to highlight contributions from and to recognize the outstanding achievements of an individual from APMP’s 17 member economies in advancing metrology efforts in their country and or within the Asia Pacific Region. It gives the award to only one individual every year with APMP reserving the right to declare no winner within an award year.

SEND congratulations to Dr. Benilda Ebarvia for winning the 2019 DEN!

Like, Follow, Subscribe to FacebookTwitterInstagramGood News Pilipinas! TV on YouTube, new story notifications and e-mail newsletters for updates on more Filipino Pride stories.

Facebook Comments

- Advertisement -