Filipino students win 6 Golds in Malaysian Int’l Math Olympiad

Filipino math students won two championship trophies, 3 runner up finishes, and brought home 6 golds, 7 silvers, and 11 bronze medals for individual members of the Philippine delegation at the 4th Malaysia International Mathematics Olympiad (MIMO) 2017.

The Pinoy kids were also bagged 3rd best performance in the Middle Primary Level Team Category.

The Philippine team went up against a total of 1,136 students from Australia, Bulgaria, China, Hongkong, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Vietnam and from 134 Malaysian schools which participated in MIMO 2017.

The selection of Philippine Team members and participation to MIMO 2017 were facilitated by the Asian MathSci League Inc. (AMSLI) Philippines.

The awardees list as released by AMSLI:

Middle Primary (Grades 3 & 4) Individual Category Gold Medalists:

  • Sean Elliott Monzon (St Stephen’s High School)
  • Reuben Joseph Felix & Aiden Jomeil Bercilla (De La Salle Lipa Integrated School)
  • Juan Sebastian Viernes (Makati Hope Christian School)

Silver Medalists:

  • Matthew Defensor (Solomon Integrated School de Iloilo)
  • Maru Adrian Robles & Alonzo Alvarez (De La Salle Lipa Integrated School)
  • Alexander Peter Benedict Lomibao (Ateneo de Manila Grade School)

Bronze Medalists:

  • Yosef Izak Kiak (St Stephen’s High School)
  • Ayden Kenzie Chan (Uno High School)
  • Julian Miles Panerio (Ateneo de Iloilo)
  • Ma. Marju Jeremiah Sobeza (Solomon Integrated School de Iloilo)
  • Danise Maydelle Fible (Cresente P. Chavez Central School, Guimaras)
  • Loviña Mia Suguitan (University of the Philippines Integrated School)
  • Matthew Andrei Go (Ateneo de Cebu)

Team Category Champions Lipa Team:

  • Maru Adrian Robles
  • Alonzo Alvarez
  • Reuben Joseph Felix
  • Aiden Jomeil Bercilla

NCR A Team:

  • Alexander Peter Benedict Lomibao
  • Althea Vizanne Tambaba (Placido Del Mundo Elementary School)
  • Angela Clare Tan (Tarlac Living Faith Academy)
  • Loviña Mia Suguitan

First Runner-Up NCR B Team:

  • Djiren Riel Abdao (Integrated Montessori Center)
  • Yosef Izak Kiak
  • Sean Elliott Monzon
  • Ayden Kenzie Chan

Second Runner-Up Iloilo Team:

  • Matthew Defensor
  • Julian Miles Panerio
  • Ma. Marju Jeremiah Sobeza
  • Danise Maydelle Fible

Overall Performance Second Runner-Up Lipa Team:

  • Maru Adrian Robles
  • Alonzo Alvarez
  • Reuben Joseph Felix
  • Aiden Jomeil Bercilla

Upper Primary (Grades 5 & 6) Individual Category Gold Medalists:

  • Jerome Samuel Tan (Makati Hope Christian School)
  • Jonathan Anacan (Alimodian Central Elementary School)

Silver Medalists:

  • Hans Dominic Gamboa (MGC New Life Christian Academy)
  • Wilmarc Samuel Galamay (Diliman Preparatory School)
  • Renzterton Sibal (Lourdes School of Mandaluyong)

Bronze Medalists:

  • Sandrene Rylie Sy (MGC New Life Christian Academy)
  • Chantal Jodi Filipino (Uno High School)
  • Lorenzo Franco Kasilag (Diliman Preparatory School)
  • Angela Kyra Salarda (Solomon Integrated School de Iloilo)

Team Category Second Runner-Up NCR A Team:

  • Sandrene Rylie Sy
  • Jerome Samuel Tan
  • Hans Dominic Gamboa
  • Chantal Jodi Filipino
Facebook Comments
The Good News Pilipinas Team
The Good News Pilipinas Team is a group of Filipino journalists who advocate putting more good news stories about the Philippines and Filipinos on the media.