UAAP to crown Season 82 general champion in online ceremony

UAAP Season 82
UST is anticipated to be crowned the UAAP Season 82 general champion after leading both the high school and college divisions in the shortened season. Photo from UST Facebook.

The University Athletics Association of the Philippines (UAAP) is formally closing Season 82 with an online ceremony that will crown the general champion, anticipated to be the University of Santo Tomas (UST) Growling Tigers.

A two-hour online ceremony to close the games season that was cut short amid the coronavirus pandemic is being prepared, the UAAP announced on June 16, 2020, at the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) Forum.

- Advertisement -

UAAP officials said the crowning of a general champion is possible because more than two-thirds of the games for both high school and college divisions were completed.

Before the cancellation, UAAP Season 82 hosted 21 out of 31 tournaments in the Seniors division while 16 of the 18 high school events had been played.

UST remained on top of the standings after the cancellation of UAAP Season 82 last April 7, 2020, due to the lockdown that has stopped event gatherings such as work, religious activities, school, and sports.

The UST Growling Tigers is anticipated to take home the UAAP general championship title of the juniors and seniors divisions for the 4th straight year after bagging the Season 79, 80, and 81 titles.

UST dominated the collegiate division with a total score of 208 points off 5 golds, 4 silvers, and 3 bronzes. The oldest running university in the Philippines and Asia scored 159 points off 5 golds, 3 silvers, and 1 bronze in the Juniors division.

This will be the fourth straight season that the University has dominated the Seniors division, and will be the 6th straight time to win the Juniors title.

De La Salle University Green Archers take the 2nd spot in both the college and juniors with 181 points and 122 points, respectively.

The UAAP Season 82 host, Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles, takes the solo 3rd spot in the senior division with 162 points.

The University of the Philippines Fighting Maroons come in at 4th place with 137 points.

The National University (NU) Bulldogs placed 5th with 117 points.

There would be no athlete of the year award, however, because the competitions were not played in full.

“Athletes who didn’t get to compete or didn’t get to compete fully. That is the wisdom why they decided to have an overall champion but not an Athlete of the Year,” said UAAP executive director Rebo Saguisag and Season 82 president Em Fernandez.

UAAP Season 82 host Ateneo De Manila University will turn over its hosting duties to rival De La Salle University for Season 83.

UAAP broadcast partner ABS-CBN would continue to host the 2-hour pre-recorded closing ceremony on its online and cable channels by end of July.

SEND CHEERS in the comments below to the UAAP community for the upcoming Season 82 closing that will crown UST as general champion.

Want to know how to be a Proud Pinoy? Like, Follow, Subscribe to, and our socials FacebookTwitterInstagramGood News Pilipinas! TV on YouTube, for new story notifications, and e-mail newsletters for updates on more Filipino Pride stories.

Facebook Comments

- Advertisement -