6 Filipino para-athletes compete for Philippines’ 1st Paralympic gold in Tokyo

Philippines' 1st Paralympic gold in Tokyo
The Philippines’ six-strong delegation for the Summer Paralympics: Allain Ganapin (para taekwondo), Jerrold Mangliwan (para-athletics), Ernie Gawilan (para-swimming), Achelle Guion (para powerlifting), Jeanette Aceveda (para-athletics), Gary Bejino (para-swimming). Photos from athletes’ socials, PSC, Asian Para Games 2018 FB, ASEAN Para Games FB, Red Ox Media Events Jat Tenorio photo.

Six Filipino para-athletes are competing for the Philippines’ first gold in the Summer Paralympic Games slated to be held in Tokyo, Japan from August 24 to September 5, 2021.

The Philippine Paralympic team is shooting for the nation’s first gold in the Paralympic Games and hoping to match the best-ever medal haul tallied by Filipino Olympians at the last Tokyo Olympics.

- Advertisement -HSBC HSBC

The Philippines will be represented by the country’s top para-athletes in the world’s biggest multi-sport event for the differently-abled, including para trackster Jerrold Mangliwan and para discus thrower Jeanette Aceveda who are headlining the Athletics events of the Paralympics competition, and Ernie Gawilan and Gary Bejino for para-swimming.

Mangliwan is set to be the flag bearer in the opening and Gawilan for the closing ceremonies of the quadrennial games in the Japanese capital.

Completing the six-strong Tokyo-bound delegation for the Paralympic Games are national athletes Allain Ganapin (para taekwondo) and Achelle Guion (para powerlifting), who became the last Filipino athlete to book a slot to the Tokyo Paralympics in July.

Guion has previously competed in the 2012 London Paralympics and was a silver medalist in the 2018 Asian Para Games in Jakarta, Indonesia, where she competed in the women’s 45kg event.

The Summer Paralympic Games in Tokyo, Japan will host a record number of 537 events from 22 sports with over 170 nations and regions participating in the quadrennial meet.

Since joining the Paralympics in 1988, the Philippines has won two medals: powerlifter Adeline Dumapon earned bronze in the 2000 Sydney Paralympics, and paddler Josephine Medina won another bronze in 2016.

GET TO KNOW the Filipino para-athletes who have qualified for the Summer Paralympic Games in Tokyo here.

SEND WELL WISHES in the comments below to the six Filipino para-athletes who have qualified to compete in the Summer Paralympic Games in Tokyo slated for August 24 to September 5, 2021.

Good News Pilipinas is celebrating its 15th Anniversary in 2021 by giving away prizes! Subscribe to our Good News Pilipinas! TV YouTube channel and enter the raffle by sending us an email to editor@goodnewspilipinas.com saying what you like about our site.

Facebook Comments

- Advertisement -